15 May, 2021

Whistling For A Ref

At a time when most parties are in election mode, the government plays around with the CEC appointment

illustration by Jayachandran
Whistling For A Ref
Who will be our next Chief Election Commissioner? Precedent—and seniority—demand that it be T.S. Krishnamurthy. But if the BJP-led NDA has its way, former cabinet secretary T.R. Prasad could be foisted as the head of the three-member poll panel. At the end of a week of suspense, with political parties already in election mode, the government has put off the decision, triggering confusion and leaving Nirvachan Sadan—the office of the EC—in a state of limbo.

The expected elevation of Krishnamurthy to CEC—by virtue of being the seniormost Election Commissioner—following present incumbent J.M. Lyngdoh's retirement on February 7 was taken as a given. This, because ever since the EC became a multi-member body in the mid-'90s, the government has been promoting the seniormost member as the CEC. It began when M.S. Gill took over from T.N. Seshan in 1996 and when Lyngdoh succeeded him in 2001.

But when a coterie within the NDA sought to give 'tradition' a go-by and project an alternative in the form of Prasad, currently a member of the 12th Finance Commission, it...

In this article:

Latest Magazine

May 24, 2021

other articles from the issue

articles from the previous issue

Other magazine section