26 January, 2021

Indians & The Ig Nobel Awards

People of Indian origin have collected quite a few of the award that honours out-of-the-box and weird inventions. Here’s a quick look at desi award winners over the ages.

Illustration by Saahil
Indians & The Ig Nobel Awards

Ravi Batra of Southern Methodist University, 1993: Won in Economics for selling enough copies of his book The Great Depression of 1990 and Surviving the Great Depression of 1990 to single-handedly prevent worldwide economic collapse predicted in the book.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Nawaz Sharif, 1998: The then Prime Minister of India and the then Pakistan Prime Minister won the Ig Nobel for Peace for their aggressively peaceful detonations of atomic bombs.

Deepak Chopra, 1998: The guru from the Chopra Centre of Well Being, California, wins in the field of Physics for interpreting the subject of Quantum Physics in such a manner that it applied to increasing life span, curing life threatening diseases and pursuit of economic happiness.

Chittaranjan Andrade and B.S. Srihari, 2001: The Ig Nobel award in Public Health was presented to the duo from the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences in Bangalore for their probing medical discovery that nose picking is a...



To read this piece, and more such stories in India's most exciting and exacting magazine, plus get access to our 25-year archives goldmine, please subscribe.

In this article:

More from Arushi Bedi

Latest Magazine

February 01, 2021

other articles from the issue

articles from the previous issue

Other magazine section