14 May, 2021

Bihar Elections: It's 15 Years Of Nitish Kumar Vs 15 Years Of Lalu Prasad Yadav

Despite its achievements, the Nitish Kumar government continues to fall back on its time-tested strategy of raising Lalu's 'jungle raj' to win elections in Bihar

Finding his mojo
Bihar CM Nitish Kumar (centre) with party colleagues.
Photographs by Sonu Kishan
Bihar Elections: It's 15 Years Of Nitish Kumar Vs 15 Years Of Lalu Prasad Yadav

The clouds of uncertainty hovering over the upcoming Bihar assembly elections have not dispersed yet, with the Election Commission still mulling ways to hold it on time in the midst of a global pande­mic, but rival parties have already girded up their loins for a bitter battle ahead.

Even though there is no official word as yet on whether the voters in Bihar—the first state to go to polls in the post-coronavirus scenario—will be able to elect a new government as per schedule in October-November this year, there appears to be no ambiguity about what would be the main poll plank this time around: it will be 15 years of Nitish Kumar versus 15 years of Lalu Prasad Yadav.

Chief minister Nitish Kumar will complete 15 years in power in November and aim for his fourth consecutive victory in the polls since the NDA ended the 15-year reign of the RJD government under his leadership in 2005. From 1990 to 2005, Lalu and his wife, Rabri Devi, had shared the chief ministership, before Nitish scripted three poll victories in a row in the next decade-and-a-half. For...

Latest Magazine

May 17, 2021

other articles from the issue

articles from the previous issue

Other magazine section